clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nobel Prize 2015: All the Nobel Peace Prize winners, in one chart

Today, it was announced that the 2015 Nobel Peace Prize will go to the Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet, four organizations that helped build democracy in Tunisia after the Arab Spring. It's not the first time that the award has gone to institutions, rather than people.

Last year, The Economist published a story analyzing trends in the Peace Prize with this amazing chart:

Nobel peace prize winners timeline chart

The Economist

The periods with an asterisk are years when no one won — check out the big gaps for most of World War I and World War II.

On the chart, The Economist marked institutional winners with a giant letter "I." They include the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons in 2013 and the European Union in 2012 "for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe."

In fact, more institutions have won the Nobel Peace Prize than women have. (Even though the Nobel Peace Prize has the greatest gender diversity of any of the Nobels.)

Another trend is the diversification in winners' geography — marked by different colors on this chart. There wasn't a single winner outside of North America or Europe for the prize's first 35 years. But in recent decades, winners have hailed from all over the globe. (The new Nobel Prize to four groups from Tunisia follows this trend.)

Maybe that gives us some hope for world peace?

You can see a full list of Nobel Peace Prize winners through 2014 over at The Economist.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Vox Recommends

Get curated picks of the best Vox journalism to read, watch, and listen to every week, from our editors.