Midterms Live results

By Ella Nilsen and Ryan Mark

Rhode Island results for every midterm race

The tiny state of Rhode Island has an interesting race for governor this year, as Gov. Gina Raimondo (D) fields a challenge from Cranston Mayor Allan Fung (R).

Rhode Island is solidly Democratic, but Raimondo isn’t terribly popular. According to a recent Morning Consult poll, 44 percent of residents approve of her, and 47 percent disapprove. She successfully fielded off a primary challenge from leftist candidate Matt Brown, Rhode Island’s former secretary of state.

Raimondo and Fung faced off in 2014, and Fung narrowly lost. There’s a bit of a wild card this time with Trumpy independent candidate Joseph Trillo potentially splitting the Republican vote (this would likely benefit Raimondo).

Rhode Island’s US Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D) is also up for reelection and facing challenger Bob Flanders, but the race isn’t expected to be competitive.

Rhode Island also has a rare Democratic trifecta — as Democrats also control the state House of Representatives and state Senate. That is not expected to change today per Daily Kos, when every seat in both chambers is on the ballot.

President Trump is unpopular here, like in much of the rest of the Northeastern seaboard, with Morning Consult finding his disapproval rating above 60 percent.

Rhode Island US Senate

Updated Nov 19, 2018, 5:11pm EST
DEM Sheldon Whitehouse 228,679 61%
GOP Robert Flanders Jr 143,293 39%
IND Raymond McKay 0 0%
420 of 419 (100%) precincts reporting, 371,972 total votes

Rhode Island US House 1

Updated Nov 19, 2018, 5:11pm EST
DEM David N Cicilline 114,604 67%
GOP Patrick Donovan 57,115 33%
IND Daniel Guilmette 0 0%
248 of 250 (99%) precincts reporting, 171,719 total votes

Rhode Island US House 2

Updated Nov 19, 2018, 5:11pm EST
DEM James R. Langevin 125,090 64%
GOP Salvatore Caiozzo 71,716 36%
251 of 218 (115%) precincts reporting, 196,806 total votes

Rhode Island Governor

Updated Nov 19, 2018, 5:11pm EST
DEM Gina Raimondo 196,046 53%
GOP Allan Fung 138,858 37%
IND Joseph A. Trillo 16,389 4%
OTH William Gilbert (Moderate Party) 10,078 3%
IND Luis Daniel Munoz 6,155 2%
IND Anne Armstrong 4,143 1%
IND Rebecca McLaughlin 0 0%