Midterms Live results

By Dylan Scott and Ryan Mark

Mississippi results for every midterm race

The Mississippi elections will be a good test of exactly how unpredictable the 2018 midterms are going to get.

On their surface, both of the Senate races here in the deep South should be boring. Sen. Roger Wicker, a member of Senate Republican leadership, should handily win reelection. But the contest for retired Sen. Thad Cochran’s seat has the potential to get interesting.

Republican Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith was appointed to fill Cochran’s seat earlier this year, and she is now facing the voters to finish his current term, which expires in 2020. But Mississippi’s unusual election laws give both a conservative insurgent and a Democratic challenger at least an outside chance to shake things up.

Mississippi has a jungle primary. Every candidate is running on the same ballot on Tuesday. If one candidate gets 50 percent on Election Day, they win. But if no candidate manages to clear 50 percent, the top two vote-getters will face off in a runoff election on November 27.

Hyde-Smith is contending with conservative Chris McDaniel, who very nearly won Cochran’s Senate seat in 2014, and Democrat Mike Espy, who rose pretty high in national politics in the 1990s before the taint of alleged (but never proven) corruption caught up to him.

The sitting senator, Hyde-Smith, should be treated as the favorite, but the unusual election system makes it unpredictable. Espy might be the favorite if he and McDaniel (who has racially retrograde views and associations) come out ahead of Hyde-Smith. But even a Hyde-Smith versus Espy race could be close. Election forecasters say the race leans, but only leans, toward the Republicans.

The entire statehouse is safely in Republican hands in this red state, and that will not change today, when none of its seats are on the ballot.

President Donald Trump is quite popular in this state, with a healthy majority of people saying they approve of his job performance, according to Morning Consult.

Mississippi US Senate

Updated Nov 19, 2018, 5:11pm EST
DEM Mike Espy 341,020 41%
GOP Cindy Hyde-Smith 337,512 41%
GOP Chris McDaniel 136,116 16%
IND Tobey Bartee 11,696 1%
1,574 of 1,799 (87%) precincts reporting, 826,344 total votes

Mississippi US Senate

Updated Nov 19, 2018, 5:11pm EST
GOP Roger Wicker 463,089 58%
DEM David Baria 318,417 40%
LIB Danny Bedwell 11,467 1%
OTH Shawn O'Hara (Reform Party) 5,399 1%
1,549 of 1,799 (86%) precincts reporting, 798,372 total votes

Mississippi US House 1

Updated Nov 19, 2018, 5:11pm EST
GOP Trent Kelly 145,025 68%
DEM Randy Wadkins 68,163 32%
OTH Tracella Lou O'Hara Hill (Reform Party) 1,504 1%
440 of 440 (100%) precincts reporting, 214,692 total votes

Mississippi US House 2

Updated Nov 19, 2018, 5:11pm EST
DEM Bennie Thompson 145,093 73%
IND Troy Ray 40,889 21%
OTH Irving Harris (Reform Party) 12,315 6%
492 of 546 (90%) precincts reporting, 198,297 total votes

Mississippi US House 3

Updated Nov 19, 2018, 5:11pm EST
GOP Michael Guest 148,535 62%
DEM Michael Evans 87,383 37%
OTH Matthew Holland (Reform Party) 2,300 1%
586 of 634 (92%) precincts reporting, 238,218 total votes

Mississippi US House 4

Updated Nov 19, 2018, 5:11pm EST
GOP Steven Palazzo 143,709 69%
DEM Jeramey Anderson 63,756 30%
OTH Lajena Sheets (Reform Party) 2,162 1%