clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Re/code Receives National Press Foundation's Excellence in Online Journalism Award

You like us!


Re/code has received the National Press Foundation’s Excellence in Online Journalism award for 2014. Recipients of the award in previous years have included the Wall Street Journal and

It is actually the second award we picked up this year. Bosses Walt Mossberg and Kara Swisher were honored with the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence by the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications earlier this year.

Thank you, readers, for sticking with us, and welcome to new audiences joining us for the first time.

Here’s the letter announcing the award recipients:

The National Press Foundation has announced recipients of some of the most prestigious awards in journalism. The winners will be honored at NPF’s annual awards dinner Feb. 18 in Washington, D.C.

Gilbert Bailon, editor of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, will receive the Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award for guiding his news organization through the police shooting of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Mo., and the tumultuous aftermath. “If ever a newspaper and its editor faced a real-time stress test it was the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and editor Gilbert Bailon,” the NPF judges said.

Alberto Ibargüen, President and CEO of the Knight Foundation, will receive the W.M. Kiplinger Award for Distinguished Contributions to Journalism. NPF judges said, “Alberto Ibargüen has been one of the world’s leading champions of journalism excellence and innovation” at the Miami Herald, El Nuevo Herald and now the Knight Foundation.

More NPF awards recognize excellence for specific news coverage.
Gregory Johnsen, John Stanton and Kate Nocera of BuzzFeed News will receive an Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Coverage of Congress. NPF judges cited BuzzFeed’s “magisterial account of a 60-word congressional resolution that authorized military action against those responsible for the 9/11 terrorist attacks. BuzzFeed captures the historic drama of that moment and all that has happened since. The details are unforgettable.”

Drew Griffin of CNN also won an Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Coverage of Congress. Griffin’s year-long project, “Congress for Sale,” focused on the money game on Capitol Hill. NPF judges praised a strong package of stories with a wow factor, including an oil executive who said the exchange of money was extortion.

Thomas Frank of USA Today is awarded NPF’s “Feddie” award for explaining how federal policy affects local government, in an extraordinary investigation into a rash of small aircraft crashes and fatalities. “Frank discloses how defective parts and unsafe aircraft, often concealed from the public and government regulators, contribute to these deaths,” the judges said.

Clay Bennett of the Chattanooga Times Free Press will receive the Clifford K. and James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartooning. NPF judges cited “elegant simplicity in Clay Bennett’s work – clear drawings, clear messages. Bennett’s style is disarming and charming with a strong bite underneath.”

Re/code, the website led by Walt Mossberg and Kara Swisher, will receive the Excellence in Online Journalism Award. The judges said, “Re/code’s coverage of technology is exceptional in its breadth. Lots of original reviews and smart commentary inform top-notch reporting on an industry that changes constantly.”

Heather Dahl, chairman of the NPF Board of Directors, said the work of the award winners is a celebration of the value of journalism. “These are a testimony to the vitality of what we do in society. I very much hope that in recognizing these winners, these winners will be inspired to keep going out and giving their best to their communities — and that they will also inspire others to reach higher and dig deeper in their reporting,” she said.

For more information on the winners and their work, go to NPF’s website.
The National Press Foundation is a nonprofit journalism organization that conducts all-expenses-paid programs for journalists in the U.S., internationally and online, and hosts a robust collection of reporting resources on its website.
The awards will be presented at NPF’s 32nd annual gala awards dinner on Wednesday, Feb. 18 at the Washington Hilton Hotel.

This article originally appeared on

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Vox Recommends

Get curated picks of the best Vox journalism to read, watch, and listen to every week, from our editors.