Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Tinder's new feature makes it the ultimate sext machine

Blake Lively takes a selfie Dominique Charriau

Tinder, a dating app for iPhones and Androids, is stealing a page from the Snapchat playbook.  A new feature called "Moments" enables Tinder users to share annotated pictures that disappear after 24 hours with people they have "matched" with.

Tinder is an app intended to help users meet new people, and make snap judgements by swiping left (reject) or right (approval) on pictures, which are typically culled from Facebook profiles. If two people swipe right on each other, then they are a match. Users could already chat through the app with their matches, but the addition of "Moments" could turn Tinder to an all-in-one sexting sensation.

CEO Sean Rad told Business Insider that Moments is intended to "help users get to know their matches better," but the move feels like the first shot of a war against Snapchat, an app solely based on disappearing momentary photos.

The time it takes for the picture to disappear could prove problematic. In Snapchat, annotated photos disappear 10 seconds after being viewed, limiting the window of opportunity for users to take screengrabs. A 24 hour pre-expiration period increases the danger that images shared could be preserved permanently.

Read This

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.
Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.